Braaksma best at Boone in IMCA Modified Frostbuster

Ethan Braaksma pocketed $1,000 after leading every lap of the Saturday Frostbuster feature for IMCA Modifieds at Boone Speedway. (Photo by Bruce Badgley, Motorsports Photography)

By Joyce Eisele

BOONE, Iowa (April 3) – Boone Speedway opened its doors for the 2021 season with the running of the Frostbuster special and 178 race cars put on a show for the crowd on hand.

Already on the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot, Ethan Braaksma put $1,000 in his pocket as he dominated the IMCA Modified feature, leading all laps on his way to victory. 

Todd Shute finished in the runner-up spot, Kyle Brown came from 10th to finish third, Tim Ward was fourth, and veteran racer Kelly Shryock was fifth.

Johnathon Logue took home the trophy in the 25-lap Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod feature, capturing his first-ever Frostbuster win at  Iowa’s Action Track.

Logue started fifth and quickly was battling early leader Dustin Lynch. The two raced side-by-side for several laps before Logue was able to establish the lead for good on lap nine. Polesitter Cam Reimers took the runner-up spot and Dustin Lynch, Cole Fenske and Austin Schrage rounded out the top five.

Luke Ramsey looked to be on his way to taking home a Frostbuster trophy as he leaped to the lead from starting third, and held his competitors at bay as the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock laps wound down.  Eric Knutson and Brett Vanous battled in the closing laps for the number two spot with Knutson finally getting the upper hand, and then he set his sights on leader Ramsey.

The two ran side-by-side in the final handful of laps, and with a final surge, Knutson made the pass at the line to snatch the victory.  Ramsey had to be satisfied with second place.  Brett Vanous was third, Solomon Bennett finished fourth and Wayne Gifford completed the top five.

The leader from start to finish in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature, Kyle Brown was determined to have an illegal carburetor in post-race tech and disqualified, which promoted Devin Smith to the top spot.

The rest of the top five would include Jeff Mueller, Donavon Smith, Damon Murty, and David Smith.

The IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing season begins Saturday night, April 10 at Boone.