Hanson takes PASS thriller at Lincoln Speedway

Jaremi Hanson was the winner in a Saturday Pennsylvania Sprint Series thriller at Lincoln Speedway. (Photo by Dan Demarco)

By Frank Buhrman

ABBOTTSTOWN, Pa. (March 27) –  Jaremi Hanson survived a fierce, multi-lap battle, and serious contact with Mikell McGee, then held off Doug Dodson’s last-lap challenge to win the Pennsylvania Sprint Series 20-lap feature for IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars Saturday at Lincoln Speedway.

Dodson came home less than a quarter of a second behind Hanson, with Dom Melair, who also had a shot at the leader before being passed by Dodson on the next-to-last lap, finishing third. 

McGee, who led the first six laps, was fourth, with North Carolina invader Daren Bolac fifth.

Hanson had started outside the front row, but pole-starting McGee grabbed the early lead, with a fierce battle behind them for the next several positions.

That battle collected Ohio’s Justin Clark, who backed into the second turn rail and rolled over on lap seven. He was not injured, but the car was done. On the restart, Hanson made what turned out to be the winning pass.

The scene changed again following a lap 19 caution that set up the final battle for the win. On the restart, Dodson was able to pass Melair for second but fell just short in challenging the winner. 

It was Hanson’s third win at Lincoln Speedway. The victory also was the third at Lincoln for Hanson’s car owner Rod Ort, who took a pair of checkered flags himself. Ironically, when Ort won in 2004, Jim Siegal was the 410 sprint winner, and Siegel claimed Saturday night’s victory as well – 17 years later.

The race drew 33 entries from seven states.

Feature results – 1. Jaremi Hanson; 2. Doug Dodson; 3. Dom Melair; 4. Mikell McGee; 5. Daren Bolac; 6. Devin Adams; 7. Ken Duke Jr.; 8. John Walp; 9. Kruz Kepner; 10. Larry McVay; 11. Jeffrey Weaver; 12. Brandon McLain; 13. Jeff Oliver; 14. Jared Zionkowski; 15. Rowdy Heffner; 16. Will Brunson; 17. Ian Detweiler; 18. Dave Graber; 19. Mike Melair; 20. Kassidy Kreitz; 21. Dave Grube; 22. Donnie Hendershot; 23. Austin Graby; 24. Justin Clark.