Winebarger finds win column on Wild Wing Shootout night two

Collen Winebarger’s $1,000 IMCA Modified feature win Saturday at Arizona Speedway’s Wild Wing Shootout put him on the ballot for the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational. (Photo by Ben Thrasher)

SAN TAN VALLEY, Ariz. (Jan. 22-24) – The second time was a charm Saturday night for Collen Winebarger. 

Making his third visit to Arizona Speedway and second of what would be three Wild Wing Shootout starts of the weekend, the Oregon speedster delivered a convincing $1,000 IMCA Modified feature win at San Tan Valley. 

“When I drew the front row start for the second time, I definitely wanted to make something of it,” the new Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot qualifier said. “I had a really, really quick car and the track was very fast. I was able to get through lapped traffic and didn’t give up a ton of time doing it.”

After three early cautions, the race stayed green the last half of the 25-lapper. Bricen James, Friday winner Casey Arneson, Tanner Black and Ethan Dotson completed the top five as Winebarger sped to his first win of 2021.

Both Arneson and Sunday winner Chaz Baca earned $1,000 for their Arizona Speedway checkers and already own early-season Winter Nationals victories as well. Riley Simmons D.J. Shannon, James and Winebarger completed Friday’s top five; Black, Brandon Schmitt, Arneson and Cody Laney ran second through fifth, respectively, in Sunday’s caution-free contest. 

Feature Results 

Jan. 22 – 1. Casey Arneson; 2. Riley Simmons; 3. D.J. Shannon; 4. Bricen James; 5. Collen Winebarger; 6. Ethan Dotson; 7. Zachary Madrid; 8. Tim Ward; 9. Grey Ferrando; 10. Chaz Baca; 11. Spencer Wilson; 12. Casey Skyberg; 13. Jon DeBenedetti; 14. Kelsie Foley; 15. Brandon Schmitt; 16. Don Earven; 17. Austin Kuehl; 18. Tom Smith; 19. Kellen Chadwick; 20. Tanner Black; 21. Cody Thompson; 22. Trevor Geist; 23. Cody Laney; 24. Paul Stone.

Jan. 23 – 1. Winebarger; 2. James; 3. Arneson; 4. Black; 5. Dotson; 6. Laney; 7. Skyberg; 8. Ferrando; 9. Foley; 10. Baca; 11. Jeremy Mills; 12. Ward; 13. Jake Pike; 14. Madrid; 15. Wilson; 16. Justin McCreadie; 17. Troy Morris Jr.; 18. Kuehl; 19. Chadwick; 20. Alyssa Smith; 21. Vinny Raucci Jr.; 22. Jimmy Mills; 23. Bubba Stafford Jr.; 24. Stone. 

Jan. 24 – 1. Baca; 2. Black; 3. Schmitt; 4. Arneson; 5. Laney; 6. Winebarger; 7. James; 8. Ferrando; 9. Skyberg; 10. DeBenedetti; 11. Wilson; 12. Chadwick; 13. Stafford; 14. McCreadie; 15. Morris; 16. Foley; 17. Jerry Schram; 18. John Pierce; 19. Joey Franklin; 20. Jeremy Richey; 21. Chad Stevens.