Eagle wraps up season with championship night show

Trevor Noonan was the Saturday night Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod winner at Eagle Raceway. (Photo by Joe Orth)

By Greg Soukup

EAGLE, Neb. (Aug. 29) – Five drivers won feature events and five others put the finishing touches on track championship campaigns Saturday at Eagle Raceway.

Trevor Noonan took advantage of a restart with five laps left in getting the lead and then the win in the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod feature. Cole Wayman was fourth in taking the track crown.

Don Hall Jr. led the last nine times around the track in topping the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature. Despite having a transmission failure during the race that lead to a 17th place finish, Jeff Ware repeated as the points champion.

Shane Hiatt scored another IMCA Modified victory, taking the checkers ahead of runner-up and repeat track champion Jordan Grabouski.

Cole Krichau raced to the Mach-1 Sport Compact victory. R.J. Maas wrapped up the track title with his third-place run. 

And Tyler Drueke prevailed in the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car finale. Despite missing a transfer spot from the ‘B’ feature by inches, Adam Gullion racked up enough points to finally claim his very first track championship.

All 2020 IMCA point standings become official on Oct. 26.