LaCrosse rules King of the Creek at 141

FRANCIS CREEK, Wis. (July 23) – With the green flag laps clicking off, the opportunity Benji LaCrosse has been waiting for finally came on the 36th time around the track Thursday at 141 Speedway. 

LaCrosse caught race-long leader Nick Strobbe and then led to the finish of the $5,000 to win King of the Creek main event for IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars.

“It was awesome. I didn’t think I’d catch the 42 car (Strobbe) for a while,” LaCrosse said following the caution-free, 50-lapper and a quick dip in the infield pond at Francis Creek. “I knew I had to get him on the top. His car was really good on the bottom.” 

Strobbe, 13th in the event as a rookie last season, started from the pole and led Shawn Wagner across the stripe the first two laps. 

LaCrosse made his way to the runner-up spot at that point, running the higher line and chasing the leader into traffic on lap 22. 

A car length was the difference between first and second when lap 34 was scored. Strobbe was slowed by traffic on the lower groove and LaCrosse was quick to take advantage and the lead two laps later.

The veteran edged ahead from that point, edging away and taking the checkers two-plus seconds ahead of Strobbe. 

Kenny Richards ran third much of the way. Brandon Czarapata and Eric Mahlik both moved up seven spots from their original starting spots to fourth and fifth, respectively. 

“The track was beautiful, with multiple lanes,” LaCrosse said. “It was an awesome show.” 

Seventy-six cars vied at the midweek special. 

Feature results – 1. Benji LaCrosse; 2. Nick Strobbe; 3. Kenny Richards; 4. Brandon Czarapata; 5. Eric Mahlik; 6. Luke Lemmens; Troy Jerovetz; 8. Dallon Murty; 9. Derek Moede; 10. Shawn Wagner; 11. Brett Wenzel; 12. Damon Murty; 13. Jeff Mueller; 14. Jordan Ross; 15. Buck Schafroth; 16. Shawn Havel; 17. Robert Waechter Jr.; 18. Aaron Karcz; 19. Josh Mroczkowski; 20. Eric Arneson; 21. Trent Nolan; 22. Jeremy Christians; 23. Jeremy Jauquet; 24. Andy Kleczka.