Martin returns to RPM to top Wheatshocker finale

Jason Martin won the Sunday Wheatshocker feature for IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars at RPM Speedway. (Photo by Carl Larson)

HAYS, Kansas (July 12) – After running second on opening night, Jason Martin was first to the checkers on night two of the Wheatshocker Nationals at RPM Speedway. 

Martin’s POWRi United Rebel Sprint Series Presented by Mel Hambelton Ford Racing Sunday payday was $2,000. 

The 30-lap feature event saw Shane Sundquist and Taylor Velasquez setting the pace. Velasquez took off with the early lead with Sundquist and Martin following. 

Lapped traffic came into play on lap 12. Martin was able to use that to his advantage and hammer around Sundquist. On lap 20, Martin pedaled around Velasquez to claim the top spot.

Martin, Velasquez and Sundquist made up the top three finishers. Jeremy Huish was fourth and Saturday winner Ty Williams rounded out the top five.

Up next for the Mel Hambelton Ford Racing POWRi United Rebel Sprint Series is the Hutchinson Nationals in Hutchinson, Kan., on Friday, July 17. 

Feature results – 1. Jason Martin; 2. Taylor Velasquez; 3. Shane Sundquist; 4. Jeremy Huish; 5. Ty Williams; 6. Koby Walters; 7. J.D. Johnson; 8. Jed Werner; 9. Zach Blurton; 10. Kyler Johnson; 11. Todd Plemons; 12. Brian Herbert; 13. Steven Richardson; 14. Darren Berry; 15. Jody Reeves; 16. Nate Berry.