Becker starts holiday weekend with Sprint win at Dodge City

Brett Becker was the early holiday weekend winner when the United Rebel Sprint Series traveled to Dodge City Raceway Park for the Sprint Car Clash. (Photo by Lonnie Wheatley)

By Lonnie Wheatley

DODGE CITY, Kan. (July 2) – The Independence Weekend got off to an early start at Dodge City Raceway Park with Brett Becker picking up the $1,000 winner’s share in the Mel Hambelton Ford Racing POWRi United Rebel Sprint Series vs. DCRP Sprint Car Clash.

Becker gridded the feature outside the front row but it was 16-year-old pole starter Kyler Johnson gunning into the initial lead of the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car main event. Fourth starting Jake Bubak handled Becker on lap two to move into the runner-up spot. 

By lap five Becker found the bottom to his liking, moving back by Bubak and taking the lead one lap later from Johnson.  

Working through traffic much of the way, Becker fought off a bid from Bubak at the midway point and then had Johnson on his tailtank again after a Bubak miscue on the 16th lap.

Becker found open track with five laps to go when the race’s only caution flew after Taylor Velasquez got into the outside wall.  Becker took off on the restart to secure his first URSS win ahead of Johnson with Zach Blurton coming from 10th to claim the hard charger award and Ray Seemann and Bubak rounding out the top five. 

Also Thursday night, Kale Beavers bested the IMCA Modifieds, Gregg Schell snared IMCA Sunoco Stock Car honors, Luke Stallbaumer scored the IMCA SportMod win and Brady Bencken handled the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks.

Dodge City Raceway Park fires back into action on Saturday, July 18, with the $1,000-to-win Stock Car Shootout along with a full slate of championship chase action.

Feature results – 1. Brett Becker; 2. Kyler Johnson; 3. Zach Blurton; 4. Ray Seemann; 5. Jake Bubak; 6. Luke Cranston; 7. Mike Woodruff; 8. Jeremy Huish; 9. Ty Williams; 10. J.D. Johnson; 11. Jordan Knight; 12. Shane Sundquist; 13. Cale Cozad; 14. Cody Lampe; 15. Koby Walters; 16. Taylor Velasquez; 17. Lance Davis; 18. Kris Moore; 19. Brian Herbert; 20. Tyler Knight.