Baca is best in night two Somerton show, IMCA Modified checkers good for $1,000

Night two IMCA Modified checkers flew for Chaz Baca at Cocopah Speedway’s Winter Nationals. (Photo by Bobby McMorris)

SOMERTON, Ariz. (Jan. 10) – After he got back in the lead, Chaz Baca got the $1,000 IMCA Modified feature win Friday night at Cocopah Speedway.

Baca ran in front the first nine circuits of the Winter Nationals main event before Braxton Yeager drove by.

Baca had regained the point by the time the next lap was scored, however, and led Yeager, Marlyn Seidler, Lance Mari and Bobby Hogge IV across the stripe.

Tom Berry Jr. ran third much of the way before bringing out a late caution; Baca was already on the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot.

Canadian Brendon LaBatte was the leader the last 17 times around the track in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car headliner.

Completing the top five were Gene Henrie, Steffan Carey, Troy Jerovetz and Kevin Roberts.

Brendon LaBatte got the best of his IMCA Sunoco Stock Car foes Friday night at Winter Nationals. (Photo by Bobby McMorris)

Tim Gonska’s long tow from Minnesota was rewarded with the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock checkers. All 17 cars that started the 20-circuit contest finished on the lead lap. 

Eric Knutson, Joshua Cordova, Brad King and Scott Tenney were scored behind Gonska.

After working his way from seventh starting, Cody Thompson led the last three laps in the abbreviated Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod feature. Runner-up was Manny Baldiviez. 

Third finishing Miles Morris led the first 14 laps. Ty Rogers was fourth and David Pitt fifth. 

Feature Results

Modifieds – 1. Chaz Baca; 2. Braxton Yeager; 3. Marlyn Seidler; 4. Lance Mari; 5. Bobby Hogge IV; 6. Bricen James; 7. Jeff Taylor; 8. Jake O’Neil; 9. R.C. Whitwell; 10. Tim Ward; 11. Casey Arneson; 12. Bobby Horton; 13. Mark Carrell; 14. Austin Kuehl; 15. Don Gumke; 16. Jerry Flippo; 17. Michael Thing; 18. Travis Mosley; 19. Regan Tafoya; 20. Jessie Hoskins; 21. Kollin Hibdon; 22. Don Geist; 23. Tom Berry Jr.; 24. Jardin Fuller; 25. Spencer Wilson. 

Stock Cars – 1. Brendon LaBatte; 2. Gene Henrie; 3. Steffan Carey; 4. Troy Jerovetz; 5. Kevin Roberts; 6. Aaron Spangler; 7. Nuggett Shupe; 8. Tony Hill; 9. Leslie Gill; 10. Chanse Hollatz; 11. J.C. Parmeley; 12. Andy Altenburg; 13. Jake Smith.

Hobby Stocks – 1. Tim Gonska; 2. Eric Knutson; 3. Joshua Cordova; 4. Brad King; 5. Scott Tenney; 6. Nathan DeRagon; 7. Jason Duggins; 8. Jim Robinson; 9. Jason Penny; 10. Francisco Cordova; 11. Andy Pearce; 12. Rick Hibbard; 13. Jason Beshears; 14. Hunter Cavanagh; 15. David Callis; 16. Kenzie Olsen; 17. Oscar Duarte.

Northern SportMods – 1. Cody Thompson; 2. Manny Baldiviez; 3. Miles Morris; 4. Ty Rogers; 5. David Pitt; 6. Taylor Kuehl; 7. Shelby Frye; 8. Michael Johnson; 9. Chris Toth; 10. Joey Klemish; 11. Jimmy Davy; 12. Camron Spangler; 13. Clay Erickson; 14. Slade Pitt; 15. Brian Carey; 16. Joshua Cordova; 17. Tony Miller; 18. Mike Wells; 19. Jimmy Wilson; 20. Justin Brierley; 21. Tate Johnson; 22. Kyle Salo; 23. Ron Schreiner; 24. Tyler Inman.