Sniper Speed Lone Star Tour crown comes at start of Jeffrey Abbey’s stellar IMCA Stock Car season

Three-time winner Jeffrey Abbey was champion of the Sniper Speed Lone Star Tour for IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars. (Photo by Stacy Kolar, Southern Sass Photography)

COMANCHE, Texas – A first-time accomplishment in an already much accomplished dirt track career made Jeffrey Abbey champion of the Sniper Speed Lone Star Tour.

Abbey won the final two IMCA Sunoco Stock Car features, held at 281 Speedway on the same day due to inclement weather. Each checkered was worth $750 while the tour title that accompanied the sweep paid $5,000.

The Comanche, Texas, pilot had never won two features in the same division on the same day before.

“We’d watched the tour last year. We were looking for some races to go to in February and the tour seemed like a good way to start the year.”

He’d won both Stock Car features at Abilene Speedway’s Ice Breaker, the second show doing double duty as opening night for the tour.

Minnesotan Curt Lund won the next two events, also at 281.

“We did have an advantage over the guys from the Northern Region,” said Abbey. “These were tracks we race weekly or on a regular basis.”

Abbey would prove to be a regular visitor to victory lanes around the EQ Cylinder Heads Southern Region, winning 18 of 29 starts at seven different tracks this season.

Five of those victories came at Heart O’ Texas Speedway, four more at Southern Oklahoma Speedway.

“We didn’t plan to race a Stock Car so much this season,” he said. “It turned out to be a pretty good season.”

Starts 5             Wins 3          Additional Top Five’s 1

HIS CREW: Father Randy, brothers Westin and Dean, Justin McCullough, Eric Stuber and Dakota Holder.

HIS SPONSORS: Abbey Racing of Comanche; Dustin Davidson Racing of West; Don Wile Racing of San Angelo; 121 Towing and Recovery of Salado; Star 1 Roofing and CRS Suspension, both of Midlothian; Muir­head Motorsports of Mabank; Dirt Defender of Waxahachie; Mark Herring Race Engines of Plainview; 517 Designs of Whitney; Black Flag Bodies of Elm Mott; Dynamic Drivelines of Des Moines, Iowa; and KS Engineer­ing of Albert Lea, Minn.