Soderberg Memorial Championship is Saturday at Dodge City

By Lonnie Wheatley

DODGE CITY, Kan. – Another rousing season of championship points chase action is nearly in the books at the state-of-the-art 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval in southwest Kan­sas.

After kicking off the 2019 chase in early April, the point season comes to a conclusion with Satur­day night’s seventh Annual Jerry Soderberg Memorial Championship event. 

The Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars will square off with the United Rebel Sprint Se­ries for the final time of the year with the IMCA Modifieds, IMCA SportMods, IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars and IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks finishing off the 2019 point chases as well. 

Saturday night’s racing action is set to get underway at 7:30 p.m. 

Zach Blurton is among the reigning Soderberg Memorial Championship event winners after best­ing last year’s crop of DCRP vs. URSS competitors with Brendon Gemmill, Dakota Sproul, Chris Oliver and Tathan Burkhart also securing championship night wins.

It was Blurton’s second Soderberg win after topping the inaugural event in 2013 with Taylor Ve­lasquez topping three of four in between with reigning DCRP 305 Sprint Car Nationals champion Jake Bubak picking up the other win in 2016. 

Brendon Gemmill is the only one to post multiple Soderberg wins in the Modified ranks after nab­bing his first one in 2015, while there have been six different SportMod winners in as many season finales.  

Current points leader Angel Munoz is the only multiple-time Soderberg winner in the Stock Car ranks with wins in 2017 and 2015 while there has yet to be a repeat winner in the Hobby Stocks. 

General admission for Saturday is $15 with children 11 and under admitted free when accompa­nied by an adult.