Gansen rolls to Dubuque IMCA Modified win

By Rob Hinckley 

DUBUQUE, Iowa (Aug. 4) – He hit the gas early and never looked back.

Matt Gansen raced to the front from his fifth starting position and won his second race in the last three tries at Dubuque Speedway Sunday evening.

The Merfeld Brothers Automotive IMCA Modified ace took the non-stop 20-lap affair over early leader Timmy Current, Bryce Garnhart, Jed Freiburger and Jeff Larson. 

Jason Roth finally got the monkey off his back in the Peosta Warehousing Logistics IMCA Northern SportMod 15-lap finale. After leading the previous three, he kept it on top this night for the win. Fellow Wisconsin driver Travis Fecht, Jake Murphy, Justin Becker and Mitch Current followed. Becker started the race in the rear. 

Cole Mather topped the K Motorsports IMCA Stock Car 10-lap feature one more time. Freiburger, in Justin Brimeyer’s machine, Reece Norton and Kenny Taylor were next.

Daniel Wauters made a late slide job on Shane Oberbreckling work and hung on to win the Kinsella Concrete IMCA Hobby Stock 10-lap main. Brian Brunscheen, Brandon White and Roger Winkers followed.