Arnold Motor Supply Dirt Knights win at Park Jefferson is Gustin’s tour career 10th

Richie Gustin won Monday’s Arnold Motor Supply Dirt Knights Tour main event at Park Jefferson Speedway, earning $1,500 for his IMCA Modified tour career 10th victory. (Photo by Jim Steffens)

JEFFERSON, S.D. (July 22) – Richie Gustin had to rate Monday’s Arnold Motor Supply Dirt Knights Tour main event as a “10.”

Gustin won his IMCA Modified tour career best 10th feature at Park Jefferson Speedway, follow­ing his opening night tour checkers with a second consecutive Dirt Knights victory.

Already on the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot, Gustin earned $1,500.

Jesse Sobbing got the best of Josh Most in a lengthy battle behind Gustin to finish second. Early leader Most ended in third.

Rounding out the top five were Joel Rust and Chris Abelson. Rust had won his ‘B’ feature and started 13th; hard charger Shane DeMey started 19th and ended in seventh.

The second installment of the 2019 tour brought 37 IMCA Modifieds, representing seven states, to town. 

Travis Barker topped the scheduled IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature and Craig Clift captured the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock main.

Winners of Iron Cup/Midwest Madness Tour features were Sobbing in the Modifieds and Aaron Cain in the Stocks.

John Cain was first to the Hobby Stock checkers and national points leader Cody Thompson paced both Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod features. 

The Arnold Motor Supply Dirt Knights Tour is at Hancock County Speedway in Britt, Iowa, for a Tuesday, July 23 event that pays $1,500 to win. 

Pit gates open at 5 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 6 p.m. Hot laps are at 7 p.m. with racing to follow. Stock Cars, Hobby Stocks and Northern SportMods complete the card with the program to be broadcast by IMCA.TV.

The tour is at Buena Vista Raceway in Alta on Wednesday, July 24 and at Kossuth County Speed­way in Algona on Thursday, July 25.

Feature results – 1. Richie Gustin, Gilman, Iowa; 2. Jesse Sobbing, Malvern, Iowa; 3. Josh Most, Red Oak, Iowa; 4. Joel Rust, Grundy Center, Iowa; 5. Chris Abelson, Sioux City, Iowa; 6. Chris Mills, Sioux City, Iowa; 7. Shane DeMey, Denison, Iowa; 8. Todd Boulware, Jefferson; 9. Jim Thies, Mapleton, Iowa; 10. Kelly Shryock, Fertile, Iowa; 11. Bob Moore, Sioux City, Iowa; 12. Jus­tin Sackett, Pierson, Iowa; 13. Ricky Stephan, South Sioux City, Neb.; 14. Lance Mari, El Centro, Calif.; 15. Alan Bohlman, Cambridge, Minn.; 16. Kollin Hibdon, Pahrump, Nev.; 17. Jay Noteboom, Hinton, Iowa; 18. Al Hejna, Clear Lake, Iowa; 19. Karl Brewer, Vermillion; 20. Kevin Bliese, Bath; 21. Derrick Stewart, Ainsworth, Iowa; 22. Brock Bauman, Eureka, Ill.; 23. Travis Hatcher, Honey Creek, Iowa; 24. Ethan Braaksma, Newton, Iowa.