Parker, Van Ooyen, Miller motor to wins at Outagamie

By Edward Anschutz 

SEYMOUR, Wis. (July 5) – First-time 2019 winners were the story Friday at Outagamie Speed­way. 

Adam Reed took the lead away from Chase Parker early in the IMCA Modified feature. Parker moved to the top groove, retaking the front spot on lap five. Parker continued to lead as Wyatt Block Jr.  and newcomer Cody Schroeder gave pursuit.  

Parker was up for the challenge, holding off all challengers to score his first win of the season. Block was second while Schroeder took third in only his third night in the class.   

In IMCA Sunoco Stock Car action, it was Mike Schmidt leading the first half of the feature. That’s when Chas Van Ooyen found traction up top, racing around Schmidt for the lead with six laps remaining.  

Josh Mroczkowski hounded Van Ooyen all the way to the checkers. For Van Ooyen it was his first feature win of the season. 

Travis Rhoades was in command of the Karl Kustoms Northern SportMod feature, building up a straightaway advantage over Bernie Miller. While navigating lapped traffic Rhodes had an alterca­tion with a tire that a lapped car kicked up right in front of him. Rhodes collected the tire, breaking the steering on his machine and ending his bid for his first feature win. 

Miller inherited the lead with five laps remaining to score his first win of the season. 

Brian Johnson was victorious in the Mach-1 Sport Compacts.