25 years of great memories: Final checkers fly on July 3 for Hogan Memorial

VINTON, Iowa – A quarter-century of memories will be shared and a tear or two shed before the final checkers fly for one of the longest running events in the history of the IMCA Modified division.

The 25th and final Hogan Memorial is Wednesday, July 3 at Benton County Speedway in Vinton. With lap money and the mid-way leader’s bonus, the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot qualifier could pay the winner more than $5,000. 

“The Hogan has been a premier Modified event for many years and rightfully so,” said IMCA President Brett Root. “It’s one of those events every IMCA Modified driver wants to win. Winning the Hogan is one of those rare career highlight-type victories.”

The event got its start in 1995 as the Dick Hogan Memorial Mid-Season Championship. It was renamed the Hogan Memorial following the death of Dick’s wife Janet.

The Hogans’ son Scott won the inaugural Modified race in 1995. After adding trophies from the 2005, 2006 and 2010 events, he leads all drivers with four career victories.

Special recognitions and presentations will be made before the start of the race program.

Also on the early holiday program are IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks and Karl Kustoms Northern SportMods, all running for $1,000 to win. 

Midway leader bonuses are $500 for the Modifieds and $200 for the SportMods. The Modifed feature pays a minimum of $308 to start; Modified, Stock Car and SportMod heat winners all earn $100, with $50 paid to each Hobby Stock heat winner.

IMCA Speedway Motors Weekly Racing National, regional and E3 Spark Plugs Iowa State points will be awarded. Stock Cars, Hobby Stocks and SportMods also chase track points. There is no entry fee and all classes are draw/redraw.

Door prizes will be awarded to fans and drivers. Grandstand admission is $15 for adults and $5 for kids ages 6-12, with five and under admit­ted free. Pit passes are $25. Gates open at 4 p.m. with hot laps at 6 p.m. and rac­ing to follow. 

More information is available at the www.jjamracing.net website.

“Sadly, all good things have to end,” Root said. “Everyone at IMCA has enjoyed our association with this event and with the Hogan family. I have so many good memories of the Hogan Memorial, as do the hundreds of drivers and thousands of fans who have been part of the event for so many years.”

The Hogan Memorial will be broadcast by IMCA.TV. Rain date is July 4.

Former Modified Race Winners

1995-Scott Hogan, Vinton

1996-Timm Jensen, Dunkerton

1997-Corey Dripps, Reinbeck

1998-Mike Sampson, Evansdale

1999-Jan Messer, Manchester

2000-Jeff Barkdoll, Vinton

2001-Ed Thomas, Waterloo


2003-Troy Cordes, Dunkerton

2004-Vern Jackson, Waterloo



2007-J.D. Auringer, Waterloo

2008-Nate Caruth, Ames

2009-Michael Long, Fowler, Ill.


2011-Jerry Luloff, Independence

2012-Richie Gustin, Gilman

2013-Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa




2017-Hunter Marriott, Brookfield, Mo.

2018-Kyle Brown, Madrid