Friday qualifiers send drivers from six states to outside row of Modified main event 

Drew Armstrong won the first Friday night Modified qualifying feature at the IMCA Speedway Mo­tors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s. (Photo by Buck Monson)

BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 7) – A parade of states raced its way into the main event in Friday night Modi­fied qualifying features at the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s.

Drew Armstrong, Kyle Brown, Peyton Taylor and Grey Ferrando made up the top four finishers in the first qualifier at Boone Speedway while Jason Wolla, Nick Roberts, Anthony Roth and Tyler Sutton advanced from the nightcap.

Those drivers will line up on the outside row and represent Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, Nebraska, North Dakota and Oregon. Ferrando, from Stayton, becomes the first Oregon driver to make the Saturday show.

Taylor, then the eighth starting Armstrong led the opener. Brown took over second following a lap 22 restart while Ferrando secured his place in Super Nationals history by holding off Justin O’Brien in a frenetic final circuit.

Wolla ran second the last 21 times around the oval and was promoted to the top spot when Richie Gustin was disqualified in post-race tech for a valve train infraction.

Roberts was the Northern SportMod champion at Super Nationals in 2012 and makes his third start in the Modified main dance. Brown and Wolla are both in for the second time while Arm­strong, Taylor, Roth and Sutton join Ferrando as first-time qualifiers.

1st qualifying feature – 1. Drew Armstrong, Alexander, Ark.; 2. Kyle Brown, Madrid; 3. Peyton Taylor, Batesville, Ark.; 4. Grey Ferrando, Stayton, Ore.; 5. Justin O’Brien, West Union; 6. Tim Ward, Chandler, Ariz.; 7. Kelly Shryock, Fertile; 8. D.J. Shannon, Merced, Calif.; 9. Jon Snyder, Ames; 10. Troy Foulger, Oakley, Calif.; 11. Randy Brown, Chowchilla, Calif.; 12. Robert Moore, Sioux City; 13. Scott Drake, Diamond, Mo.; 14. Chris Mills, Sioux City; 15. Brock Bauman, Eu­reka, Ill.; 16. Ryan McDaniel, Olivehurst, Calif.; 17. Jesse Richter, Great Bend, Kan.; 18. Randy Foote, Stanton; 19. Jason Snyder, Dunkerton; 20. Jim Thies, Mapleton; 21. Travis Hatcher, Honey Creek; 22. Kenny Wyman Jr., Goodyear, Ariz.; 23. Gatlin Leytham, Toledo; 24. Corey Burch, Junction City, Kan.; 25. A.J. Ward, Ionia, Mich.; 26. Duane Cleveland, Olivehurst, Calif.; 27. Scott Olson, Blairsburg; 28. Joe Spillman, Austin, Texas; 29. Gavin Hunyady, Fenton, Mich.

2nd qualifying feature – 1. Jason Wolla, Ray, N.D.; 2. Nick Roberts, Des Moines; 3. Anthony Roth, Columbus, Neb.; 4. Tyler Sutton, Beloit, Kan.; 5. Nick Meyer, Whittemore; 6. Chris Elliott, Abilene, Texas; 7. Clay Money, Penokee, Kan.; 8. Collen Winebarger, Corbett, Ore.; 9. Troy Cordes, Dunkerton; 10. Tyler Stevens, Searcy, Ark.; 11. Tony Cox, Ames; 12. Josh Gilman, Earl­ham; 13. Jordy Nelson, Marysville, Kan.; 14. John Parmeley, Phoenix, Ariz.; 15. Nick Deal, Har­lan; 16. Regan Tafoya, Farmington, N.M.; 17. Carter Vandenberg, Oskaloosa; 18. Cody Knecht, Whittemore; 19. Eric Elliott, Boone; 20. Chad Porter, Madison Lake, Minn.; 21. Brandon Williams, Platte City, Mo.; 22. Joe Mullins, Boulder, Colo.; 23. Richard McNeal, Towanda, Pa.; 24. Caleb Stone, Lovington, N.M.; 25. Randy Havlik, Ankeny; 26. Kody Scholpp, Estevan, Sask.; 27. Scott Hogan, Vinton; 28. Corey Dripps, Reinbeck; 29. Joel Bushore, Boone.

Jason Wolla raced his way into the big show at Boone Speedway Saturday night. (Photo by Melissa Coker, Melissa’s Out On A Limb Photography)