Late charge by Larson leads to Sibley County Shootout checkers 

After taking the lead with four laps left, Jeff Larson took the $1,500 IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature win at the Sibley County Shootout. (Photo by Sarah Moriarty)

ARLINGTON, Minn. (Aug. 1) – Jeff Larson took the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car checkers and was joined by Luke Sathoff and Matt Speckman as the big winners money-wise at Wednesday’s Sibley County Shootout.

Larson made his move to the front with four laps left in the Arlington Raceway show, passing Sathoff and leading to the $1,500 checkers.

Sathoff took second and his position was drawn for an extra $500 bonus from Sunoco NAPA of Arlington. Speckman also received a $500.00 bonus for his 10th place finish.

Damon Murty, David Moriarty and Dean Cornelius rounded out the top five. Hard charger Shaun Bruns was sixth.

Derek Green chased Sathoff early before falling out with mechanical problems. The only caution was on lap nine for a spun car and Larson, Murty and Moriarty were all on the move following the restart.

The top four cars were all in the mix and racing side-by-side before Larson took charge.

Cory Probst prevailed in the caution-free IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock headliner and Matt Looft led the way to the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod checkers.

The midweek special was sponsored by Geib Well & Water and MS Trucking and saw just three yellows interrupting the main events.

Feature results – 1. Jeff Larson; 2. Luke Sathoff; 3. Damon Murty; 4. David Moriarty; 5. Dean Cornelius; 6. Shaun Bruns; 7. Matt Schauer; 8. John Oliver Jr.; 9. Dan Mackenthun; 10. Matt Speckman; 11. Jeff McCollum;12. Rick Mees; 13. Chad Schroeder; 14. Zachary Foesch; 15. Chad Overgaard; 16. Brad Lange; 17. Jason Goddard; 18. Dan McCain; 19. Taylor Willms; 20. Jake Bruns; 21. Kevin LaTour; 22. Dan Eckblad; 23. Charlie Rustman; 24. Andrew Zimmerman; 25. Ryan Grochow; 26. Derek Green; 27. Dakota Robinson; 28. Dan Dhaene; 29. Brent Uecker.