Knoxville hosts next IMCA Arnold Motor Supply Dirt Knights Tour date

KNOXVILLE, Iowa – Many of the best IMCA Modified drivers in the Midwest put their on-track skills to the test at the Sprint Car Capital of the World next Thursday, July 19.

Knoxville Raceway hosts the third installment of the Arnold Motor Supply Dirt Knights Tour. IMCA Modifieds run for $2,000 to win and a Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot nod while Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods complete the Dynamic Drivelines Dirt Duel program.

Pit gates open at 3 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 6 p.m. on race day. Hot laps are at 6:30 p.m. and racing starts at 7 p.m.

Grandstand admission is $15 for adults, $10 for students ages 13-19, and free for kids 12 and under. Senior and military rates will also be available; pit passes are $30.

More information is available at the website.

Arizona native Ricky Thornton Jr. is racing out of Clive this season and has won the first two tour events, at Benton County Speedway in Vinton and at 141 Speedway in Wisconsin. The 141 Speedway event was the 82nd in tour history and the first held outside the state of Iowa.

Ninety-eight different drivers, from a dozen states, have competed in one or both Dirt Knights Tour events held so far this season.

The Dirt Duel will be broadcast by IMCA.TV. Presenting sponsor for the tour is Wehrs Machine and Racing Products.

Three events in as many nights see the Arnold Motor Supply Dirt Knights Tour at Park Jefferson Speedway in Jefferson, S.D. on Monday, July 23; and Hancock County Speedway in Britt on Tuesday, July 24; and at Buena Vista Raceway in Alta on Wednesday, July 25.

The tour finale is Monday, Aug. 6 at the Clay County Fairgrounds in Spencer, hometown of series title sponsor Arnold Motor Supply.

Arnold Motor Supply Dirt Knights Tour top 20 point standings – 1. Ricky Thornton, Clive, 80; 2. Hunter Marriott, Brookfield, Mo., 74; 3. Joel Rust, Grundy Center, 67; 4. Troy Cordes, Dunkerton, and Kelly Shryock, Fertile, both 62; 6. Jarrett Brown, Ainsworth, and Kyle Brown, Madrid, both 49; 8. Darin Duffy, Urbana, 45; 9. Shane DeMey, Denison, 41; 10. John Parmeley, Phoenix, Ariz., 39; 11. Terry Phillips, Springfield, Mo., 38; 12. Benji LaCrosse, Green Bay, Wis., and Ethan Dotson, Bakersfield, Calif., both 37; 14. Dylan Smith, Osceola, Neb., 36; 15. David Brown, Kellogg, and Kyle Strickler, Mooresville, N.C., both 35; 17. Jordan Grabouski, Beatrice, Neb., 34; 18. Jason Czarapata, Pulaski, Wis., and Scott Hogan, Vinton, both 33; 20. T.J. Smith, Menasha, Wis., 32.