Nelson hustles to $1,000 Hobby Stock win

Dylan Nelson hustled to the $1,000 IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock checkers Thursday night at Kossuth County Speedway. (Photo by Greg Grabianowski)

By Greg Grabianowski

ALGONA, Iowa (June 14) – Along with talent, winning a special in dirt track racing frequently in­volves two other factors, a little luck and a good draw.

Dylan Nelson used all those things to top a big field of IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks in a $1,000 to win main event Thursday at Kossuth County Speedway.

Nelson started on the outside of the front row and led all 20 laps. The caution flew on four occa­sions to regroup the field, but each time Nelson pulled away from the pack.

Cody Nielsen ended up in second place with Chanse Hollatz placing third. Leah Wroten took fourth and Greg Sidles was fifth. Kyle Sidles went from 22nd starting to eighth as the hard charger.

Other feature winners during the evening were Rob Hughes in the IMCA Modifieds, Calvin Lange in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, George Nordman in the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods and Oliver Monson in the Mach-1 Sport Compacts.

Feature results – 1. Dylan Nelson; 2. Cody Nielsen; 3. Chanse Hollatz; 4. Leah Wroten; 5. Greg Sidles; 6. Brandon Nielsen; 7. Austin Jahnz; 8. Kyle Sidles; 9. Gary Pesicka; 10. Doug Wickman; 11. Keeran Sampson; 12. Jay Sidles; 13. Zac Smith; 14. Jacob Kofoot; 15. James Burns; 16. Bryce Sommerfeld; 17. Darin Johnson; 18. Chad Krug; 19. Tim Sidles; 20. Gavin Jorgenson; 21. Wes Jahnz; 22. Daniel Smith; 23. Josh Sidles; 24. Connor Smith.