Noteboom cashes in at Memorial Clash

IMCA Modified checkers flew for Jay Noteboom at Park Jefferson Speedway’s Memorial Clash. (Photo by Mad Photography)
JEFFERSON, S.D. (May 26) – Jay Noteboom trumped a stout field of 24 Artworks Graphics IMCA Modifieds to take home the top spot and $1,500 at Park Jefferson Speedway’s Memorial Clash.
At the jump, it was Chad Ten Napel jumping out to the early lead followed by Bob Moore and Chris Abelson. Eventually, Abelson wore down Ten Naple to take the point. Noteboom and Moore swapped the runner-up spot with Noteboom utilizing a crossover move to secure the runner-up spot.
Abelson, who appeared to have checked out and was possibly counting all $1,500 of the top spot, got loose between turns three and four and jumped the cushion. This allowed Noteboom to power away for his third consecutive victory and set the stage for a colorful post race interview with the new Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot qualifier discussing preferred driving lines around Park Jefferson.
Abelson worked his way back to second with rookie Todd Boulware finishing third.
Noteboom also moved his name to one away from Joe Kosiski on the all-time Park Jefferson winners’ list.
Jason Martin was the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car winner and Jason Ward paced the J&J Fitting IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars.
Rusty Montague ruled the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods while Andrew Harris prevailed in the Mach-1 Sport Compact main.
Track officials were pleased to host members of the 185th Air Force Refueling wing as guests at the Memorial Weekend event.