Kay keen on collecting record fifth straight Deery win on Memorial Day at Boone

Deery Brothers Summer Series

BOONE, Iowa – Justin Kay runs for a Deery Brothers Summer Series record fifth straight feature win when the IMCA Late Model tour makes its traditional Memorial Day visit to Boone Speedway.

Kay already owns four consecutive Deery victories and looks to become the first driver in the tour’s 32-year history to win five in a row next Monday, May 28.

Kay won the 2017 series finale and followed with checkers at Cedar County Raceway, Maquoketa Speedway and Quad City Speedway in the first three events of 2018. He shares the current record of four consecutive wins with Gary Webb (1994), Rob Toland (2004) and Brian Harris (2013).

“We’re not going to make any changes to the car. Everything has been working real good for us,” Kay said. “We’ll just try to make sure that nothing falls apart and everything works.”

His 27 career tour checkers include the Memorial Day event at Boone in 2015. The two-time series champion has another four top-five Deery finishes at Boone to his credit, including a pair of runner-up finishes during the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s.

Next Monday’s Deery event will be the 48th held at Boone since 1988 and pays $2,000 to win and a minimum of $300 to start.

Also on the Memorial Day program are IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks and Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods racing for all points, including track.

Pit gates at Boone open at 2 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 3 p.m. Hot laps are at 4 p.m. and racing gets underway at 5 p.m.

Spectator admission is $20 for adults, $7 for students ages 13-17 and free for kids 12 and under when accompanying a paid adult.

More information is available at the www.raceboone.com website and by calling 515 987-1220.

Deery Brothers Summer Series top 20 point standings – 1. Justin Kay, Wheatland, 126; 2. Ryan Dolan, Lisbon, 116; 3. Jeremiah Hurst, Dubuque, 114; 4. Chad Holladay, Muscatine, 105; 5. Nick Marolf, Moscow, 104; 6. Joe Zrostlik, Long Grove, 100; 7. Todd Cooney, Pleasant Hill, 98; 8. Matt Ryan, Davenport, and Curt Martin, Independence, both 95; 10. Terry Neal, Ely, 90; 11. Chuck Hanna, Port Byron, Ill., 79; 12. Sam Halstead, New London, 78; 13. Andy Nezworski, Buffalo, 77; 14. Tim Simpson, Iowa City, 70; 15. Andy Eckrich, Oxford, 68; 16. Chad Coyne, Orion, Ill., 67; 17. Rob Moss, Iowa City, 65; 18. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, 62; 19. Jeff Tharp, Sherrill, and Cayden Cayden, Oskaloosa, both 61.