Abelson takes IMCA Modified win at MoTown Showdown 

Chris Abelson was the $1,000 IMCA Modified feature winner at Marshalltown Speedway’s Show­down at Motown on Friday night. (Photo by Tom Macht, www.photofinishphotos.com)

By Joyce Eisele

MARSHALLTOWN, Iowa (Sept. 1) – Chris Abelson reeled in a flying Josh Gilman en route to the $1,000 IMCA Modified win at Marshalltown Speedway’s Friday night Showdown at MoTown.

Abelson took charge jut after halfway in the 25-lapper and pulled away. The race was halted on lap 23 after Canadian driver Kody Schlopp took a tumble off of turn four.  When the race went back to green for the final two circuits, Abelson again drove away from the competition.

Already on the 2018 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot, he finished well ahead of second place Clint Luellen. Third went to 18th starting Joel Rust, Kelly Shryock came from 17th starting to finish fourth and Tim Ward completed the top five.

Damon Murty passed Jeff Mueller to regain the lead on the final turn to win the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature. Mueller had to be content with second and third went to Todd Reitzler. Elijah Zevenbergen was fourth and Kyle Everts came from 12th starting spot to finish fifth.

Joey Schaefer made his way to victory lane from sixth starting in the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod main. Sam Wieben came from 10th starting to finish as the runner-up, passing Johna­thon Logue in the closing laps. Fourth was Travis Peterson and Jared VanDeest rounded out the top five.

Scott Pippert led the entire 20 laps of the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock A main to take the win.  A hard-charging Chanse Hollatz took second place and Eric Stanton was a close third.  Fourth went to Clint Nelson and veteran Bill Bonnett was fifth.