Davenport Speedway crowns track champions 

By Mike McGuire

DAVENPORT, Iowa (Aug. 25) – Friday was Season Championship night at the Davenport Speed­way sponsored by Cintas and 2017 track champions were crowned in all weekly classes.

Matt Ryan capped his Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model championship season with his sixth feature win of the season. Ryan jumped out to the early race lead after starting on the pole. Rob Toland used the bottom groove to catch Ryan and take the lead on lap two. Ryan re-gained the lead several laps later.

After a lap 12 restart, the lead swapping resumed. Eventually, Ryan took the lead for good and drove to the title. Toland was second and Terry Neal took third.

Bryce Garnhart finally captured his first Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Modified feature win. It came on the same night as his first Modified track championship at Davenport. Garnhart led all 20 laps en route to the win.

Toland closed on Garnhart in lapped traffic but contact with another car ended his race. Mitch Morris was second, followed by Bruce Hanford.

Tony Olson put the exclamation mark on his third straight Hawkeye Auto IMCA Northern SportMod track championship. Olson ran away from the pack, finishing a full straightaway ahead of the field for his eighth feature win of the season. Gage Neal emerged from a four car battle for second. Jake Morris finished third.

Point standings for all IMCA divisions become official on Oct. 23.