Marriott, Green, Nordman win big at Kossuth County

Hunter Marriott, Derek Green and George Nordman were among the IMCA winners Thursday during the Kossuth County Fair program in Algona. (Photo by Greg Grabianowski)

By Greg Grabianowski

ALGONA, Iowa (Aug. 3) – Six-foot-tall trophies and $1,000 checks went to three IMCA winners at Kos­suth County Speedway’s county fair show Thursday night.

Hunter Marriott made his first appearance at Algona and that was bad news for the other 20 IMCA Modi­fied drivers. Marriott built the comfortable lead each time and cruised to the easy Fast Shafts All-Star In­vitational ballot qualifying victory. Todd Shute was a distant second and Tim Ward placed third.

The IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars had the most exciting race of the night as Bruce Wickman grabbed the early lead while Jake Masters stayed right on his bumper. Derek Green joined in the battle in lap number five as Chad Palmer made it a four-car breakaway for the lead one lap later.

Wickman continued to hold the trio off but finally with four laps to go, Green wrestled the lead away and went onto his fourth feature win at the oval.

Bruce Wickman’s best run of the season earned him second place with Palmer taking third.

George Nordman drew the pole position and led start to finish in the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod main.

The race had a complete restart at the beginning and Nordman was dominant from that point on. Erik Laudenschagler made the long pull from North Dakota worthwhile as he was the runner-up with Jake Simpson third.

Daniel Smith’s first outing at Algona saw him top the 25-car IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature. Colin Rodgers was the Mach-1 Sport Compact winner.