Marolf rides high line to West Liberty Raceway win

By Jerry Mackey

WEST LIBERTY, Iowa (July 29) – West Liberty Raceway hosted Lil’ Racer Car Club Night Satur­day on a near perfect evening for racing.

When the final checkered flag of the night waved it was Nick Marolf celebrating his first win of 2017 at his home track. Marolf took the Out-Pace Racing Products IMCA Late Model lead from Dave Wada and went on to rim to an impressive win ahead of Chad Holladay and Ron Boyse.

The Performance Concepts IMCA Modifieds put on their usual outstanding racing. When the check­ered flag fell on their 20-lap main event it was young Derrick Stewart celebrating his first win of 2017. Stewart had been close on several occasions this season but Saturday night belonged to him. Chris Zogg ran second ahead of Larry Herring.

Cody Harris also added his name to the list of first time winners in 2017 with a win in the Weikert Iron & Metal IMCA Northern SportMods. Harris held off the constant challenges by defending track champion Dalton Simonsen in scoring the win.

David Brandies won another spirited battle in the Kile Motorsports IMCA Stock Cars. Brandies emerged late in the race to capture the win ahead of Greg Gill and Matt Gilchrist.

Alex Hayes scored a hard fought win in the US 6 Bodyworks IMCA Sport Compact Class. Hayes held off defending track champion Jason Klerk de Reus in taking top honors.