Kansas Thunder Series returns to Norton 

By Mike Hughes

NORTON, Kan. (July 29) –The Kansas Thunder Series took Friday night off after a two-day show at Os­borne Speedway Wednesday and Thursday, then took to the half-mile at Elmwood Park Speedway Satur­day evening before a big crowd.

Adam Webber led the opening lap of the IMCA Northern Sport Mod feature before Tracy Holloway took the lead.  As the field came to the white flag, Dakota Sproul took over the top spot and beat Holloway to the finish line. Weber finished third.

The IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature saw the top six drivers in a close race with Jason Rogers in com­mand.  A late-race wreck involving Kyle Pfeifer and Tony Blickenstaff set up a green, white, checkered finish. Rogers held off Casey Woken and Dustin McClurg for the win.

Garrett Hager took the lead from Cody Williams on lap two of the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature and drove away for the win. Brady Bencken made a late charge to finish second ahead of Williams.

David Murray Jr. took advantage of his pole starting spot in the IMCA Modified feature and powered away for the 15-lap victory. Tanner Black, Mike Petersilie, Jesse Richter and Cole Hodges completed the top five.

The Kansas Thunder Series concludes at Rooks County Speedway during the Rooks County Fair in Stock­ton on Thursday, Aug. 17.