URSS readies for Wheatshocker Nationals 

KAYS, Kan. – After a grueling four races in seven days, with three of those races held last week­end, United Rebel Sprint Series drivers will lock and load for the much-anticipated ninth annual Wheatshocker Nationals at RPM Speedway in Hays, Kan., this Saturday and Sunday, July 15 and 16.

Being one of the “Big Ones” of the year, look for many of the top Kansas, Colorado, Nebraska and Oklahoma IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car drivers to be on hand vying for the $2,000 winners share on Sunday night.

A customized Pit Boss Smoker Grille provided by Lance Pittman and S&W Supply in Hays will be awarded to the two-day overall point champion.

Last year’s winner of both nights Brian Herbert will be back to defend his title as will 2015 winner Zach Blurton, along with Steven Richardson, who lost by a nose to Blurton and always runs well at RPM.

Jake Bubak, the night two winner in 2014, will also be in the mix along with defending national champion Andy Shouse.

Saturday night qualifying will lock in the top six with the remainder of the field determined on Sun­day to fill the remaining 14 spots. Races start at 7 p.m. each night.