Kansas Thunder Series opens 2017 season

David Murray Jr. was the IMCA Modified winner when the Kansas Thunder Series opened at Rooks County Speedway. (Photo by Carl Larson)

By Mike Hughes

STOCKTON, Kan. (July 2) – The Kansas Thunder Series opened its 2017 race season Sunday evening, July 2, at Rooks County Speedway.

In the IMCA Modified main event, David Murray Jr. took the lead from Kaid Calhoon on lap three and drove away for the feature win. Daniel Gottschalk held off Mike Petersilie for the runner-up spot, with Tyler Sutton and Calhoon rounding out the top five.

Casey Woken led all 12 laps in the caution-free IMCA Sunoco Stock Car main event. Kyle Pfeifer was second, followed by Tanner Portenier, Robert Rutherford and Jason Davis.

Dakota Sproul led all 12 laps to win the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod feature, which finished under caution. As the entire field took the white flag, there was a 3 car tangle in turn one that brought out the caution and the checkers.

Ninth-starting Tracy Holloway charged through the field to finish second, trailed by Tyler Watts, Rodger Peck and Brady Skrdlant.

Shay Simoneau took the early lead in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature, only to be passed by Zach Olmstead on lap seven. Simoneau regained the lead on lap nine before Olmstead spun on lap 10 and went to the pits.

After the restart, Brian Stich passed Simoneau for the lead and held on to the checkers.  Simoneau, Cody Williams, Colton Pfeifer and Spencer Hilbrink completed the top five.

The series moves to Osborne Speedway Wednesday and Thursday, July 26-27, for a two night show, then takes a night off before racing again at Elmwood Park Speedway in Norton on Saturday, July 29. The series concludes back at Rooks County Speedway on Thursday and Friday, Aug. 17-18.