Clear sailing for Day in Sprint Series of Oklahoma at Ardmore

Michael Day raced to the Friday Sprint Series of Oklahoma feature win at Southern Oklahoma Speedway. (Photo courtesy of Mike Howard)

By David Smith Jr.

ARDMORE, Okla. (June 23) – Michael Day took the lead at the start and never looked back in topping the Sprint Series of Oklahoma feature Friday night at South Oklahoma Speedway.

Day started on the pole for the 20-lap feature IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car main event, presented by Smiley’s Racing Products, and led wire-to-wire to capture his first career SSO victory.

Third-starting Michelle Melton, who picked up her one and only series victory in Ardmore last year, held off repeated challenges from defending national and series champion Andy Shouse to finish second. Jake Martens and Gary Owens rounded out the top five.

Feature results – 1. Michael Day; 2. Michelle Melton; 3. Andy Shouse; 4. Jake Martens; 5. Gary Owens; 6. Tristan Oakes; 7. Joe Wood Jr.; 8. Sterling Hoff; 9. Blake Dacus; 10. Cody Whitworth; 11. Loyd Clevenger; 12. Michael Scott; 13. Justin Melton; 14. Chad Koch; 15. Tanner Conn; 16. Dillon Laden; 17. Chris Kelly; 18. Josh Toho; 19. Warren Fields; 20. Chase Parsons.