Jergens wins Kossuth County special

By Greg Grabianowski

ALGONA, Iowa (June 15) – Mike Jergens was the big winner in the IMCA Modified special spon­sored by the Algona Feed Store, as the Plover driver took first in the feature and pocketed the $2,000 first place money Thursday at Kossuth County Speedway.

Clay Money was the leader after the first lap but Jergens wrestled the lead away after an early restart and never gave it up the rest of the way. Kelly Shryock and Tad Reutzel kept the heat on throughout the race with Shryock placing second and Reutzel third.

Money was fourth and Rob Hughes rounded out the top five. Hughes went from 14th starting to fifth as the feature’s hard charger.

Derek Green was the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car winner and Shannon Anderson scored top IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock honors.

Jake McBirnie led the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods to the checkers and Jacob Tacheny topped the Mach-1 Sport Compact main.