Saathoff scores Eagle IMCA Modified win

Johnny Saathoff was the IMCA Modified winner Saturday at Eagle Raceway. (Photo by Joe Orth)

By Greg Soukup

EAGLE, Neb. (June 10) – Johnny Saathoff was in the right place at the right time to collect Saturday’s Kaplan University IMCA Modified victory at Eagle Raceway.

“I think it’s been about 11 months since my last feature win here. I’ll take wins any way I can get them,” the four-time Eagle track champion said.  “I just need to get my car figured out a little better. Tonight it was a little closer, so we’ll keep working on it. We’re running an open motor that Speedway built for us and it’s been working out really well. It’s just driver error when we’re not doing very well.”

Shane Hiatt, Clint Homan and Bob Zoubelk rounded out the top four.

Adam Gullion won for the first time this season at Eagle in the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car main event.

Shawn Harker started 10th and won his third straight Hoosier Tire IMCA Northern SportMod feature. Roy Armstrong scored his second straight Valentino’s IMCA Hobby Stock checkers.

Erica Krichau was promoted to the top spot in the Mountain Dew Kick Start IMCA Sport Compacts when the apparent winner was disqualified in post-race tech.