Andy Eckrich takes $2,000 IMCA Late Model win at West Liberty

By Jerry Mackey

WEST LIBERTY, Iowa (June 3) – Racing resumed at the West Liberty Raceway on Saturday night following a hiatus due to the recent wet weather. Saturday night’s racing included the Ideal Ready Mix Tri-Track Challenge plus an emotional night of racing for the Jennifer Brauns Massey Memorial.

The 30 lap Out-Pace Racing Products IMCA Late Model feature saw Andy Eckrich establish him­self in the early going as the man to beat. Andy was forced to fight off the constant challenges of his brother Denny before Chad Holladay joined in the battle for the lead.

Andy Eckrich had the race in hand before lapped traffic came into play allowing Holladay and Denny Eckrich to close. Andy was able to break free of lapped traffic and move into victory lane with a $2,000 paycheck awaiting Team 56. Holladay held off Denny Eckrich with Justin Kay round­ing out the top four.

Chris Zogg is the defending track champion in the Performance Concepts IMCA Modifieds and served notice he will fight to defend his title by scoring his second feature win of the season on Saturday night.

Zogg advanced from his fourth row start to take the lead on lap eight and held off a hard-charging Da­kota Hayden in scoring the win. Young Jarrett Brown drove an outstanding race in taking third ahead of Derrick Stewart.

Johnny Spaw broke free of a pack of contenders and went on to score an impressive win in the Kile Motorsports IMCA Stock Cars. Spaw chased down early leader Greg Gill and made the win­ning move into the lead just past midway of the 15-lap feature.

Another first-time winner added his name to the record books as young Ryan Walker scored his first ever Weikert Iron & Metal IMCA Northern SportMod feature win. Walker worked to the front from a third row start and went on to score the feature win by holding off a strong running Cody Harris.

Ryan Havel celebrated his birthday by winning the US 6 Bodyworks IMCA Sport Compact feature. Ha­vel took the feature win over Jason KlerkDeRus and Cody VanDusen.