Waterman leads to Lee County Speedway checkers 

Jeff Waterman won the IMCA Modified feature on Friday night at Lee County Speedway. (Photo by Dan Workman)

By Brian Neal

DONNELLSON, Iowa (May 12) – Jeff Waterman scored his second Budweiser IMCA Modified feature win of the young season Friday at Lee County Speedway.

Larry McConnell and Mitch Boles led the field to the drop of the green flag in the 20-lap feature but it was fourth starting Dennis LaVeine who jumped out front over McConnell and Dakota Simmons.

While LaVeine set the pace out front, Waterman, who started seventh, worked his way into second. On lap six, Waterman, slipped under LaVeine coming off turn four to take over the top spot.

Waterman set such a torrid pace there was no way of catching him with out a caution. And that caution never happened as the race went caution-free. LaVeine ended in second and Blake Woodruff was third.

A fast start took Jason Cook to victory lane in the Donnellson Tire & Service IMCA Stock Car main event. Tenth starting John Oliver Jr. was the runner-up.

Austen Becerra and Tony Dunker went at it the final 12 circuits before the Shottenkirk Parts Express IMCA Northern SportMod checkers flew for Becerra.

Barry Taft held off Kimberly Abbott the last seven times around the track in winning the Armstrong Tractor IMCA Sport Compact feature.