Mitchell is IMCA Late Model winner at Marshalltown

Justin Mitchell led flag to flag when IMCA Late Models made their weekly return to Marshalltown Speedway on Friday night. (Photo by Bruce Badgley, Motor Sports Photography)

MARSHALLTOWN, Iowa (May 5) – Justin Mitchell was the dominant winner Friday night, when IMCA Late Models made their return to the weekly race program at Marshalltown Speedway.

Mitchell led from start to finish. Seventh place starter Jason Hahne was the runner up and hometown driver Darrel DeFrance was third.

Kyle Brown took the early lead in the IMCA Modified feature, and never looked back on his way to the winner’s circle, a $1,000 check and a spot on the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot.

Jesse Hoeft made the haul down from Forest City and finished second. Jacob Murray started ninth and finished third.

Jeff Mueller stamped his first win in the books at Marshalltown in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car division and looked strong in doing so. Mueller started sixth, and led from lap three on his way to victory.

Donavon Smith started in the row behind Mueller and ended up a close second place. Third was Michael Jaennette.

Shannon Anderson took the win in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks. Anderson battled it out with Eric Stanton much of the race but Stanton had to be content with second place. Third was Eric Knutson.

The Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod feature went to Doug Smith. Smith took the lead at lap 12 and put his Rage Chassis in victory lane. Jared VanDeest was digging hard, but had to settle for second after starting 10th on the grid. Sam Wieben was third.