Sprint Series of Oklahoma set for Friday show at Red Dirt Raceway

By David Smith Jr.

MEEKER, Okla. – The Sprint Series of Oklahoma IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car Series presented by Smiley’s Racing Products will be back in action Friday, May 5 as the tour makes the first of two ap­pearances of the season at Red Dirt Raceway in Meeker.

This event will be race three on the 2017 SSO schedule with Joe Wood Jr. of Oklahoma City pick­ing up the victory this past Friday night in Wichita Falls, Texas, while Texan Chad Koch picked up the season-opening victory at Southern Oklahoma Speedway in late March.

The SSO visited the quarter-mile red-clay oval in Meeker last year with Jake Martens and Andy Shouse picking up victories. Shouse’s lone SSO victory last year helped propel him to the inaugu­ral series championship, as well as the IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car national crown.

Shouse, Martens and Wood are just a couple of the close to 25 drivers expected to compete Fri­day at Red Dirt Raceway.

Touring regulars also expected include Cody Whitworth, Shayla Waddell, Mike Scott, Jerry Jumper, Gary Owens, Loyd Clevenger, Chris Kelly, Brandon Long and Sterling Hoff. A strong cast of rookie of the year candidates include Tanner Conn, Josh Toho, Justin Fisk, Dillon Laden and Stan Constant.

Koch, who won the season opener, lost a motor late last Friday night and hopes to have one ready to make the trip from his Wichita Falls home.

Gates open at 6 p.m. with race time slated for 8 p.m. Grandstand tickets are $10 while children ten and under are admitted for free.