RaceSaver Sprints make Boone Speedway debut

Michael Moore was the Saturday winner when IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Cars made their Boone Speedway debut. (Photo by Bruce Badgley, Motorsports Photography)

By Joyce Eisele

BOONE, Iowa (April 22) – Boone Speedway held its season opener on Saturday night and the pits were packed with 143 race cars, including IMCA RaceSaver Sprints for the first time.

Michael Moore secured the first-ever weekly race victory in the division. He passed Mike House­man at lap 11 of the 20-lap event and never looked back. Kaleb Johnson was the runner-up and Houseman finished third.

Sixteen Sprints were entered. The winged class last ran at Boone at the 2009 IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s.

Gatlin Leytham led the entire 20-lap IMCA Modified feature to win for the first time in his career in the division.

Jimmy Gustin chased him from the beginning but had his final attempt for a pass fail when he lost a wheel on the white flag lap. This set up a green, white, checkered finish that saw Leytham hold the lead for the win, as Russ Dickerson followed him across the finish line in second place. Eric Elliott was third.

Johnathon Logue won the time-shortened Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod feature. Jake McBirnie started 11th and took the runner-up spot.

Jay Schmidt prevailed in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature after starting 13th. He caught up to leader Todd Reitzler by lap five, and continued to pester him until finally making the pass on lap 11.

Trent Murphy finished second after starting 11th and 10th starter Donavon Smith was third.

The 12-lap IMCA Hobby Stock feature concluded the night’s racing. Aaron Rudolph snagged him­self the win in this division, holding off Shannon Anderson and Dustin Graham.