Cordes grabs $1K at Independence Spring Break Opener

Troy Cordes was the $1,000 IMCA Modified winner at Independence Motor Speedway’s April 8 Spring Break Opener. (Photo by Jim Wittke,

By Bucky Doren

INDEPENDENCE, Iowa (April 8) – Troy Cordes kicked off his 2017 racing season at the Independence Motor Speedway with a $1,000 payday winning the Spring Break Opener on April 8, 2017.

Cordes moved into the lead during the IMCA Modified main event on lap three. Mark Schulte applied heavy pressure in the closing laps but it was Cordes, already on the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot, who was first to the checkered flag during the 25-lap feature.

Schulte settled for second. Scott Hogan raced in the top five all night and finished third. Adam Johnson moved from the 14th starting spot to finish fourth and Jason Morehouse finished a great night by rounding out the top five.

2016 IMCA Sunoco Stock Car track champion Tom Schmitt wrestled the lead away from early race leader Lynn Panos on lap 14, and raced off to the win. Panos finished second. Justin Temeyer came home third followed by Jarod Weepie and Damon Murty.

Tony Olson led flag to flag in the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod main but the defending national and track champion had to fend off several challenges to score the victory. Troy Hovey, Gage Neal, Kyle Olson, Jason Schlangen all raced right on the leader’s back bumper.

During a lap 13 restart, the running order saw a shake up when Hovey’s right rear slid over the cushion as the field dashed off of turn two. That allowed Olson to open a lead and raced off to the win.Neal finished second followed Kyle Olson and Schlangen. Jerry Miles rounded out the top five.

Benji Irvine continued the theme of defending track champions racing into the Budweiser Victory Lane. Irvine started ninth and was able to snag the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock lead away from early race leader Daniel Wauters on 11. Wauters tried to steal the lead away in the closing laps, but had to settle for second. Tyler Ollendieck finished third. Brett Knapp crossed the line in fourth, and Kile Vohoringer rounded out the top five.

Racing returns to Independence Motor Speedway on Saturday, April 15 when the Deery Brothers Summer Series visits the 3/8 dirt oval. IMCA Modifieds will race for a $1,000 winner’s payday that night as well. Also on the card are the IMCA Stock Cars, SportMods and Hobby Stocks.

Pit and grandstand gates open at 4 p.m. The draw closes at 5:45 p.m. Hot laps are set for 6 p.m. with racing to follow.