Cranston takes win in SSO/URSS Challenge

By David Smith Jr.

LONGDALE, Okla. (Sept. 17) – Current Myers Racing Engines United Rebel Sprint Series point leader Luke Cranston worked lapped traffic to his advantage, taking the lead with two laps to go to win the Sprint Series of Oklahoma IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car/URSS co-sanctioned event at Longdale Speedway Saturday night.

The 25-lapper went caution-free in a time of six minutes and 47 seconds.

Chris Kelly and Cody Whitworth started on the front row with Kelly getting the jump and taking the lead as the green flag fell on the 26-car field.

Whitworth wasted no time making his move, driving underneath Kelly coming out of turn two to take the lead on lap three. He opened a half stretch lead before reaching the slower cars on lap seven while Brandon Long passed Kelly for the runner up position.

Lap 10 saw Cranston get around Kelly for third. At midway Whitworth’s lead had dwindled to six car lengths as the frontrunners continued to mix it up with slower traffic.

Cranston passed Long on lap 15 and Andy Shouse followed him into third with five laps to go.

Heavy traffic slowed Whitworth’s pace up front allowing Cranston to move to within striking distance. He drove down low coming out of turn two and took the lead heading down the backstretch.

That was all Cranston needed as he went on to capture the 10-car length victory, his third on the Myers Racing Engines URSS national tour and first with SSO.

Whitworth settled for second while Shouse came home third. Long crossed the finish line fourth while Ty Williams rounded out the top five. Hard charger of the feature was Mike Peters who started 17th and finished ninth.

The next event will be the finale for the SSO IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car Series on Saturday, Sept. 24 at Oklahoma Sports Park in Ada.

Feature results – 1. Luke Cranston; 2. Cody Whitworth; 3. Andy Shouse; 4. Brandon Long; 5. Ty Williams; 6. Chad Koch; 7. Chris Kelly; 8. Jake Martens; 9. Mike Peters; 10. Taylor Velasquez, 11. Jeb Werner; 12. Steven Richardson; 13. Joe Wood Jr.; 14. Brian Herbert; 15. Shayla Waddell; 16. Tracy Hill; 17. Blake Dacus; 18. Kip Hughes; 19. Lloyd Clevenger; 20. Keefe Hemel;  21. Alison Slaton; 22. Blake Scott; 23. Justin Fisk; 24. Mike Scott; 25. Tanner Conn; 26. Jerry Jumper.