Familiar faces in winner’s circle at RPM Speedway

By Mike Hughes

HAYS, Kan. (Aug. 27) – It was all familiar faces in the winner’s circle at RPM Speedway Saturday evening.

In the Gib’s Auto Supply IMCA Modified feature, Jimmy Reeves jumped out to the early lead in the 20-lap event but gave way to Jesse Richter on lap three. Richter and Reeves were back and forth up front as Corey Lagroon made up ground at the top of the track and took the lead on lap 14.

Clay Money dove under Lagroon in turn four coming to the white flag and held on for his second RPM Speedway win this year in the caution-free race. Kyle Rohleder finished third behind Lagroon.

The 20-lap Advantage Glass Plus IMCA Stock Car feature got off to a rough start as there was an eight car tangle on the opening lap, eliminating four cars.  On the restart, Kevin Wagoner took the lead but was passed by Kyle Pfeifer on lap four.

After a lap 10 restart, Jason Rogers took the lead from Pfeifer and would not look back the remaining distance and drove on to his third win of the year at Hays. Jason Schoenberger and Aaron Gray were second and third, respectively.

Adam Weber took the lead at the drop of the green in the Golden B Hydra Drilling IMCA Northern SportMod main event but was passed by Daniel Gottschalk after a lap four restart. Gottschalk drove on to his 30th feature win of the season and his fourth at RPM Speedway.  Trenton Kleweno finished second with Blaine Walt third.

The 20-lap Golden Plains Trucking IMCA Hobby Stock feature saw Cody Graham take the early lead. After a lap 12 caution, Eric Cross drove past Graham and made his way to victory lane for the second time this season.  Graham held on to the runner-up spot, followed by Robert Leonard.

Richard Crow made it two in a row in the Cutting Edge Collision IMCA Sport Compact feature.  Crow took the lead on lap five of the 12-lap race from Kirk Pfannenstiel.  Billy Turner raced his way to second, followed by Art Herzog.

Nex-Tech was the evening’s race sponsor. Racing action returns to RPM Speedway on Saturday, Sept. 17 for championship night.  Race time is 7 p.m.