Season championship night win to Holliday at West Liberty

WEST LIBERTY, Iowa (Aug. 27) – West Liberty Raceway hosted season championship racing on Sat­urday night with the iWireless IMCA Late Model division headlining the program.

The 25-lap main event saw Chad Holladay advance from his fourth row start and sail on to the victory in the caution-free feature. The win for Holliday put an exclamation point on his 2016 Late Model track championship. Andy Eckrich ran a strong race in taking second ahead of Jeremiah Hurst.

The Performance Concepts IMCA Modifieds closed out the regular season with Brad Dubil scor­ing his second win in the last month in the very tough class. Dubil shot out front early and led the caution-free race flag to flag. The racing behind Dubil was very intense as the season point title was up for grabs. Chris Zogg finished one position behind his nearest competition for the point title, Jerry Luloff. Zogg won the point title. Matt Fulton took second ahead of Luloff and Zogg.

Tim Plummer broke out of the pack of race lead contenders in the Weikert Iron & Metal IMCA North­ern SportMod season championship race and went on to record the feature win. Plummer scored a comfortable win ahead of 2016 track champion Dalton Simonsen.

Jason KlerkDerus fought his way to the front and took the lead late in the season championship race in the US 6 Bodyworks IMCA Sport Compact class. KlerkDerus secured his second consecu­tive West Liberty Raceway track title with the win. Brendon Schultheis ran second ahead of Brad O’Brien.

The next event at West Liberty Raceway will be the annual Liberty 100 presented by Ideal Ready Mix. Qualifying will be Friday, Sept. 23 with main events, including two 50-lap features for Deery Brothers Summer Series drivers being run on Saturday, Sept. 24.

All West Liberty Raceway classes will run at the Liberty 100.