Five win Kossuth County fair features 

By Greg Grabianowski

ALGONA, Iowa (Aug. 4) – Derek Green, Ryan Ruter, Shannon Anderson, Tyler Thompson and Jake Simpson all earned feature wins at the Kossuth County Fair Race at Kossuth County Speed­way in Algona on Thursday. Feature winners received $1,000 in the Modified, Stock Car, Northern SportMod and Hobby Stock classes along with a six-foot tall trophy.

Green was the most dominating winner of the evening as he won for the second time this summer at Algona. Craig Berhow and Troy Swearingen were on the front row at the start of the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature with Swearingen taking the lead on the opening circuit.

On the next lap, Green used the high side of the oval to fly past Swearingen and immediately built a nice lead. Three laps later, the caution flag came out but once the race restarted the only ques­tion that remained was who would finish second as Green ran away from the 18-car field.

Dan Hanselman prevailed in the battle for the runner-up spot with Swearingen third. Berhow was fourth and Chad Palmer finished fifth.

Josh Ruby and Ruter drew front row starting positions for the Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modified main as Ruby took the lead on the first lap only to see Ruter take the top spot away four laps later.

Ruter held the lead the remainder of the green, white, checkered race to earn the victory.

Ethan Dotson finished second with Ruby third. Jeremy Mills was fourth and Shryock ended up in fifth.

The IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature began with a complete restart which was the only hiccup in a race that saw Anderson dominate the 17-car field for his sixth local win of the year.

Brandon Nielson was second followed by Chanse Hollatz, Cody Nielson and Mike Schadendorf.

Thompson started dead last in the 11-car Mach-1 Sport Compact feature that saw two complete restarts to open the feature.  Once the green flag finally dropped, Kaytee Devries took the early advantage out front.

Thompson slowly weaved his way through the field and took the lead at the halfway point of the race.  Just a yellow flag one lap later delayed the Sioux City driver’s journey into the winner’s cir­cle.

Alec Fett and Matthew Hanson led the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod field to flagstand as Hanson grabbed the early lead. He held the lead for five laps before Simpson wrestled the ad­vantage away from him and went on to earn his fourth feature win of the summer at Kossuth County.

Dan Drury placed second while 24th starting Adam Armstrong was third. Nick Meyer was fourth and Ben Schultze ended up in fifth.