Kansas Thunder Series moves to Norton 

By Mike Hughes

NORTON, Kan. (July 30-31) –The Kansas Thunder Series moved to Elmwood Park Speedway in Norton on Saturday & Sunday, July 30-31, during the Norton County Fair.

Mike Petersilie led all 15 laps in Saturday’s Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modified feature. Tyler Frye and Clay Money chased Petersilie most of the race but had to settle for second and third, respectively.

Kyle Pfeifer led the opening lap of the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature before Dustin McClurg took the lead. That was short-lived however as Casey Woken took command on lap four.

On lap 12, Chad Sterling powered to the lead and charged to the checkers. McClurg finished in the runner-up spot, trailed by Jason Davis.

Garrett Hager took the lead on lap five from Travis Coop and went on to win the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature. Jeromy Wagner finished second, followed by Shay Simoneau.

Brian Davidson led all 12 laps of the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod feature.  Several cautions kept the field close but Davidson was able to hold off Tracy Holloway to the checkers. Brian Con­ness finished third.

On Sunday, Frye passed David Murray Jr. on lap nine and powered away for the Modified win. Money finished third.

Sterling won his third series Stock Car feature, which went caution free. Sterling took the lead from Jason Davis at the halfway mark and held on for a trip to victory lane. Kyle Pfeifer was third.

Hager swapped the Hobby Stock lead with Brady Bencken halfway through the race and held off Bencken for his second win in a row. Rhett Kingsbury finished third.

Tanner Portenier won a caution-plagued SportMod feature that saw the race cut from 12 laps to 10 after six yellows. Holloway and Logan Thomsen  rounded out the top three.

The series moves to Rooks County Speedway in Stockton on Thursday, Aug. 11. Race time is 7 p.m.