Rust, Wroten grab first Marshalltown wins

MARSHALLTOWN, Iowa (July 29) – Marshalltown Speedway found new faces in Victory Lane on Friday night in the Modified and Hobby Stock divisions, while there were repeat winners in the Stock Cars and Northern SportMods.

Jake Strayer took command from Gatlin Leytham on lap six of 20 circuits in the Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modified main but soon had Joel Rust to contend with. Rust, who started eighth, made the move around the topside of Strayer, taking the lead at lap eight.  Rust then held that top spot to the checkers flying, securing the win.

Strayer finished second, third went to eleventh starting Jacob Murray, Jimmy Gustin started 14th and finished fourth and Jenae Gustin was fifth.  Rust won the Hawkeye Dirt Tour race on June 7 but this was his first regular season win at Marshalltown in 2016.

A new winner came from the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock class when Leah Wroten scored her first vic­tory at Marshalltown.  Wroten, who started ninth, outran point leader Eric Stanton to grab the trophy.

Following second-place Stanton was Gene Nicklas in third, fourth went to 11th starting John Wat­son and Tyson Overton was fifth. This was the first time Wroten had won at Marshalltown Speed­way.

The 18-lap Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod main went to 10th starting Jared VanDeest. The win was his sixth this season at Marshalltown.

Donavon Smith took the lead with two circuits remaining in winning his fourth local IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature of the season.