Three continue Raceway Park streaks 

By Bob Coney

JEFFERSON, S.D. (July 24) – Three IMCA drivers kept win streaks intact Sunday at Raceway Park.

Ramsey Meyer made the pass on Andrew Harris with five laps remaining in the KISS 107.1 FM Sport Compact feature and held on for his third win in a row. Harris finished in the runner-up spot followed by Tom Meyer and Tracy Raml.

Rusty Montagne took his second win in a row in the MOPAR Northern SportMod division. Behind Montagne, Karl Brewer finished second followed by Justin Voltz and Austin Price.

Chris Mills took his second Casey’s General Stores Stock Car win in a row, his third in his last four starts. Behind Mills, Mel Elsberry completed a strong charge to second followed by Greg Tay­lor and Todd Gereau.

Aaron Shearn took the Car Quest Hobby Stock feature win. Lucas Phillips led the field from the drop of the green flag, only to suffer a flat tire with two laps remaining, handing the win to Shearn. David Miller finished in the runner-up spot followed by Tony Fetterman and Craig Clift.

The final feature of the evening saw Jim Thies take the lead on the second lap of the Total Motors Mod­ified main event. Sean Barragan kept the pressure on Thies to the checkered flag only to fin­ish second.

The battle for third was also an exciting duel between Ricky Stephan and defending national cham­pion Chris Abelson, with Abelson coming out on top on the final lap.