Pruitt paces IMCA Stock Cars at Boone

BOONE, Iowa (July 16) – It was another full night of racing Saturday at the Boone Speedway, where it was Elmquist Towing night.  There was a new face in victory lane in the IMCA Stock Car class, while three other divisions saw repeat winners.

Brandon Pruitt scored his first win at Boone this season in the 18-lap IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature.

Cory Bushnell got around Missouri racer Brad Whitney at lap six, to take over as captain of the ship. He soon had Pruitt breathing down his tail pipes, pestering him at each corner. Pruitt’s swing to the outside paid off, as he took the lead on lap 12.

A couple laps later, Trent Murphy was applying pressure to the leader, searching everything for a way around Pruitt. But it wasn’t to be, as Pruitt shook off his advances, and took the checkers. Murphy, who started 11th, finished a close second.  Veteran Terry Pruitt came home in third, 10th place starter Jay Schmidt finished fourth and point leader Donavon Smith started 17th and finished fifth in the caution-free feature.

Johnathon Logue scored his fifth win of the season in the 18-lap Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod feature. Logue started 10th and had to run down leader Robert Moore to take control at lap 10.

Moore finished in second, Randy Roberts finished third from his ninth starting position, Jake McBirnie, driving a borrowed car after suffering mechanical woes in the heat, finished fourth after starting near the tail of the field, and Curtis Veber completed the top five.  The race went flag to flag.

The Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modifieds ran a 20-lap feature and Joel Bushore wasted little time in getting to the front.  He passed Albert Wolfgram as lap five was scored and from there on never looked back, repeating his win from last week.

Wolfgram held second place, Jimmy Gustin came from 11th to finish third, fourth was Chris Webb, and point leader Mike Van Genderen recovered nicely from an early race skirmish to finish fifth.

The IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks closed out the night’s racing with their 12-lap feature. Solomon Bennett took charge at lap four and held off Dustin Lynch to take the win in a close finish.  Point leader Eric Stanton came from the 10th starting spot, to finish third, fourth was last week’s winner, Aaron Rudolph, and Chad Legere was fifth.  Bennett won for the fourth time this season in another caution-free event.