Hanselman, Hanson earn first Kossuth County wins 

By Greg Grabianowski

ALGONA, Iowa (July 14) – The always-entertaining IMCA Sunoco Stock Car division produced a first time winner at Kossuth County Speedway this summer as home-towner Dan Hanselman took full advantage of his outside pole position to earn his first feature victory of the season Thursday night.

Kevin Opheim was the runner-up, holding off a hard charging Derek Green. Joey Penning was fourth and Bruce Wickman rounded out the top five finishers.

Last month, Matthew Hanson rolled his car in front of the grandstand in a scary accident but Thursday night saw Hanson capture his first local win of the year at the track in the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod division.

Hanson started on the inside of the third row. Doug Cook was second with Shane Swanson placing third. Ben Schultze was fourth and Nick Meyer took fifth.

The IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks had a big car count as the drivers tuned up for their upcoming special and a familiar face appeared in victory lane as Shannon Anderson picked up feature win number five at Kossuth County Speedway, coming from the inside of the fourth row to do it.

Cody Nielsen was the runner-up followed by Brandon Nielsen, Gary Pesicka and Blaine Hanson.

Jeremy Mills won his second straight and third overall feature at the track in the Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modified feature as he came from the outside of the fourth row.

Ben Kraus finished second with Stacey Mills third; Austin Wolf placed fourth and Aaron Benson was fifth.

Another driver to earn her third feature victory of the summer at the oval was Kaytee DeVries.  She started on the outside of the second row before piloting her 8K Mach-1 Sport Compact rig into the winner’s circle.