Murray captures IMCA Modified victory at Marshalltown

Marshalltown Speedway

MARSHALLTOWN, Iowa (June 24) – Jacob Murray captured his third win in the Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modifieds while Donavon Smith picked up another victory in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars Friday at Marshalltoewn Speedway.

Joey Schaefer won for the first time in the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod division and Eric Stanton got back on track, winning the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock feature.

Murray started ninth in the Modified feature. He put his no. 48J ride to the topside and reeled in the front running cars quickly.  When a yellow flew at lap four, Murray was already sitting in third place behind Jake Strayer and leader Jenae Gustin.

When the race restarted, Murray put it to the top again, and passed both Strayer and Gustin and was scored the leader at lap five.  From there on, he shook off all challenges and swept to the win, his third of the season.  Richie Gustin, who did not run his heat race, and had to start dead last in 20th spot, flew through the pack to finish as runner up, and hard charger of the race. Cody Laney, the California racer who is back in the area for some Iowa racing, finished third.

By lap four of the Stock Car main, it was the familiar no. 35 of Smith lurking in second.  When a yellow flew at lap eight, Smith was ready for the restart, and made the pass for the lead.  He then kept the rest of the pack at bay the remaining laps to the finish and the win.

A good battle brewed in the closing laps between Dave Atcher and eighth place starter Damon Murty, with Murty winning out for the runner-up spot and Atcher going third.

After Stanton had his perfect streak ended last week by Gene Nicklas, he got back to victory lane this week by winning the 15-lap Hobby Stock feature.  Stanton started eighth and by lap four had claimed the lead.  He then pulled away to win by a comfortable margin, holding back Jamie Songer in second and 11th starting Chad LeGere en route to his eighth local win of the year.

Joey Schaefer took home the trophy in the 18-lap feature event for the Northern SportMods. Shaefer got the lead by lap three and never looked back on his way to victory lane.  A distance behind in second was 17th starting Jared VanDeest and 10th starting Brayton Carter in third. Carter VanDenBerg rallied through the field from starting 21st to take fourth.