Toland, Morris, Olson win Mid-Season championship features at Davenport 

By Mike McGuire

DAVENPORT, Iowa (June 24) – As Davenport Speedway readies for next week’s Iowa Governor’s Cup, there was still one more night of point racing action to get in the books. Friday was Mid-Season Night.

Rob Toland stretched out his point lead in the Petersen Plumbing and Heating IMCA Late Model class. Toland started on the outside pole and led all 25 laps. Andy Nezworski came from ninth starting and used the low groove to finish second. Matt Ryan took third, finishing ahead of Kevin Kile and Chuck Hanna.

Mitch Morris came from mid-pack to win the Eriksen’s IMCA Modified main. Ray Cox Jr. jumped out to the early lead and was able to hold the advantage for the first 14 laps. On lap 15, Morris forced his way under Cox to take the lead and his third point win of the season at Davenport.

Cox held on to take second, with Doug Crampton third. Bruce Hanford and Rick Ratliff rounded out the top five.

Thirty-three IMCA Modifieds were on hand Friday.

The Hawkeye Auto IMCA Northern SportMods saw another dominating performance by Tony Olson. The Cedar Rapids racer captured his fourth point victory of the season. Olson led all 15 laps of the race.

Andrew Burk finished in the runner-up position, while Tyler Soppe raced from the tail of the field to finish third. Jake Morris and Nathan Ballard finished fourth and fifth, respectively.