Davis drives to first Boone Modified checkers 

BOONE, Iowa (June 18) ­– Three drivers walked away with back-to-back wins and a new face visited victory lane Saturday at Boone Speedway.

Scott Davis came away with his first win at Boone in the 20-lap Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modi­fied feature. Davis led all 20 laps on his way to that victory.  Josh Truman finished second, third place went to 11th place starter and point leader Mike VanGenderen, fourth was Matthew Meinecke and Cole Ferguson rounded out the top five.

Two IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars quickly shot to the front. Jay Schmidt started eighth and had the lead at lap five, with 11th place starter Donavon Smith attached to his rear bumper.  Schmidt couldn’t shake Smith, who finally snuck underneath him to take over as captain of the ship on lap 10.

Smith would hold tight to that lead the rest of the way to the win.  Schmidt finished second, Rod Richards started 10th and finished third, fourth went to Josh Daniels and Wayne Gifford was fifth. Smith, who is the point leader, repeated his win from last week, and gained his fourth of the sea­son.

Daniel Tasler was the man in charge through the halfway mark of the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod race, but a hard-charging Johnathon Logue had been in hot pursuit for most of those laps.

Logue, who started ninth, began reeling in Tasler. The two battled side-by-side for several laps before Logue was able to establish the lead on lap 11.  He held that top spot the remainder of the way to the checkers and the win.

Randy Roberts finished second after starting 10th, third was Jake McBirnie, early leader Tasler was fourth and Andy Tiernan rounded out the top five. Logue matched his win from last week, and had also won on opening night.

Ross Marshall won for the first time at Boone last week in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock division and found it to his liking as he also took back-to-back wins.  Marshall started eighth and by lap five was leading the pack.

He had company close at hand as Solomon Bennett and Eric Stanton were tight on his tail.  He persevered, however, held both at bay and took his second consecutive win. Bennett finished as the runner-up and Stanton was third. Aaron Rudolph took fourth and Dustin Graham completed the top five.