Wild West Shoot Out ventures to California, Chadwick impresses in home state feature 

By Ben Deatherage

YREKA, Calif. (June 12) – A home state driver was the Sunday winner, when the 2016 Wild West Shoot Out made its only stop in the Golden State.

Kellen Chadwick earned $1,000 and a spot on the ballot for the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational along with the Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modified checkers at Siskiyou Motor Speedway.

As was the case on opening night at Southern Oregon Speedway, Collen Winebarger set a rapid pace for a good portion of the race. His sizable lead was cut down when a lap 11 caution bunch up the field again.

On the restart, Lance Mari went back to work on Winebarger for the top spot. Mari successfully made his move on the bottom and took the lead on lap 14. Mari then attempted to set sail but a lap 18 yellow lined the field up together one last time.

Mari continued to blaze the trail but had some fast company behind him in the likes of Winebarger and Chadwick. Chadwick managed to take second from Winebarger before concentrating his efforts on the leader.

Chadwick made a tactical move to the bottom to get underneath Mari on lap 21 to get to the front. The remainder of the distance would go non-stop and Chadwick continued to pace the field to the checkered flag. It was Chadwick’s first career Shoot Out victory in only two starts.

Mari held on to second while Winebarger ended in third. The rest of the top five consisted of Danny Lauer and Brian Poppa.

Thirty-five Modifieds, representing California, Oregon, Washington, Colorado, Montana and North Dakota, were entered at Yreka.

Feature results – 1. Kellen Chadwick; 2. Lance Mari; 3. Collen Winebarger; 4. Danny Lauer; 5. Brian Poppa; 6. Bricen James; 7. Randy Brown; 8. Alex Stanford; 9. Mark Carrell; 10. Grey Ferrando; 11. Tripp Gaylord; 12. Mark Wauge; 13. John Campos; 14. Travis Peery; 15. Nick Trenchard; 16. Steven Sturdevant; 17. Jerry Schram; 18. Albert Gill; 19. Zach Olson; 20. Jesse Williamson; 21. Jesse Bailey; 22. Kevin Roberts; 23. Ryan Gaylord; 24. Kyle Casson.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply