Rust looks for record third straight Hawkeye Dirt Tour win tonight at Kossuth County 

ALGONA, Iowa (June 9) – Joel Rust looks to make Hawkeye Dirt Tour history tonight, when the series for Xtreme Motor Sports IMCA Modifieds travels to Kossuth County Speedway.

Rust has won the first two tour events, on Memorial Day at Benton County Speedway and Tues­day at Marshalltown Speedway. A win at Algona would make him the first driver to win three straight events in the series’ 64-race history.

“I’ve been to Algona once before, in a SportMod about five years ago,” the Grundy Center charger said this afternoon. “I’m anxious to get back there. It looks like a good place to race.”

Tonight’s feature pays $1,000 to win, a minimum of $150 to start and is a Fast Shafts All-Star Invita­tional ballot qualifying event.

Also running will be IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks, Karl Chevrolet North­ern SportMods and Mach-1 Sport Compacts for all applicable points, including local track.

Pit gates and the grandstand open at 4 p.m. Hot laps are at 6:15 p.m. with racing to follow. Grand­stand admission is $12 for adults and free for kids 14 and under. Pit passes are $25.

The Thursday evening show will be broadcast by IMCA.TV.

Three previous Dirt Tour events have been held at Kossuth County with wins going to Dustin Smith of Lake City in 2011, Richie Gustin of Gilman in 2012 and Jimmy Gustin of Marshalltown in 2013.

Hawkeye Dirt Tour top 20 point standings – 1. Joel Rust, Grundy, 80; 2. Chris Abelson, Sioux City, 67; 3. Corey Dripps, Reinbeck, 61; 4. Brian Irvine, Oelwein, and Kyle Brown, State Center, both 60; 6. Joe Docekal, Dysart, and Troy Cordes, Dunkerton, both 58; 8. Kelly Shryock, Fertile, 50; 9. Mark Elliott, Webster City, 49; 10. Richie Gustin, Gilman, and Ronn Lauritzen, Jesup, both 48; 12. David Brown, Kellogg, 46; 13. Tom Berry Jr., Boone, 45; 14. Mike Van Genderen, Newton, 43; 15. Ryan Maitland, Waterloo, 42; 16. Todd Shute, Des Moines, 39; 17. Tony Snyder, Read­lyn, 38; 18. Jacob Murray, Hartford, 37; 19. Nick Roberts, LaCrosse, Wis., and Shane DeMey, Denison, both 36.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply